Place Published: New York
Publisher: C.W.Ames & Co
Date Published: 1881
Edition: 1st Edition
Binding: No binding
6 folding plates from the book "Report On The Renewal Of Niagara Suspension Bridge, 1880" and published in 1881.
Each 13 x 8 1/8 inches. Plates were folded now flat. Black printing one side only on light paper stock. Other than some brown staining on plate #1 at the far left edge and the right fold, all are in very good condition.
Leffert L. Buck’s professional achievements include the reconstruction of John A. Roebling’s Niagara Railroad Suspension Bridge over the Niagara Gorge.
In 1877, Buck undertook the reconstruction of the Niagara Railway Suspension Bridge. He developed unique methods which allowed the work to proceed without interruption of the railroad traffic using this bridge. During the following eight years, Buck ensured the cable anchors were repaired and reinforced. The wooden trusses were replaced with iron and steel. The stone towers were replaced with steel tower, leaving the cables as the only original element.
In 1897, when increasing railroad loads made this bridge obsolete and a new replacement necessary, Leffert Buck again employed unique methods which allowed the new spandrel braced arch structure spanning 804 feet (245m). The new span was constructed on the same centerline as the old suspension bridge. As this construction was carried out, there was no interruption of railroad traffic.
Very Good. Item #4553